Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

OMG

leave a comment »

As you may remember, I recently made a blanket for my niece, Hattie, who was born a few weeks ago.  I washed it twice today with a little boost of bleach hoping to get the blue tint out of the white sections. It didn’t really do much good, and the yarn started to disintegrate!!!! It literally fell apart in my hands as I was examining it, so into the trash it went.

I guess I should be glad that it didn’t happen after I gave the blanket to them. Has anyone ever had an old acrylic yarn fall apart on them? It just gives me more incentive to use natural fibers.

We went to my niece Hattie’s christening today, and the other gift I made to replace the blanket went over very well.

Hattie’s Shrug
Pattern:
http://www.allaboutyou.com/craft/Knitting-pattern-baby-shrug/v1
Yarn: Cascade 220 Wool
Needles: US 5 circular

Notes: What an easy and fun knit! It was really interesting to see how this came together, row by row. I’ve heard horror stories of Bliss’ patterns running large, but I didn’t run into that problem. The shrug was exactly the size it should have been.

I did have a bit of difficulty seaming the sides because of the way the stitches morph along the seam. I’ll probably make another of these in the future, but in a cotton next time. My sister-in-law loves the color orange, not a color I would usually choose for an infant, but I like how it turned out. Gotta love how vivid Cascade yarns look in natural light. Delish!

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

February 9, 2009 at 1:04 am

Leave a Reply

