Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Is it Friday yet?

leave a comment »

Ugh, all these layoffs and the bad financial news is really starting to get to me since I work  in the financial industry. Doubly so since we are moving to Milwaukee in June with no jobs waiting for us when we get there at the moment.  We’re hoping to find jobs within the company we work for, but there are no guarantees. If anyone knows of a great company looking for an experience project manager/business analyst in the Milwaukee area, please drop me a line!

On to brighter thoughts on this chilly January day.

I recently picked up the delightful Knitting New Mittens & Gloves by Robin Melanson with a gift card I received at Christmas.

mittens

I don’t have a very large knitting library, but I am so happy that I bought this one. I was drawn to it right away because of the beautiful photography, but I ended up buying it because of  the wide variety of patterns. Every style you can think of is included, and the patterns are detailed but not overly complicated. I also liked how it didn’t have that soccer mom vibe or tweeny glossiness to it like so many of the knitting books I see.

rusalka-425

There’s a little writeup on how she came up with the pattern, and the yarns are so luxe that I think I will actually try to make a pattern in the yarn recommended for once in my life.

poppy-4251

I can easily see myself making a large portion of these patterns since mittens/gloves make really great gifts. You may have frinds or family members that won’t appreciate a pair of handknit socks, but almost everyone I know will wear mittens/gloves.

I also had the opportunity to stop in at The Yarnery in St. Paul last week and wow! That store is so tiny, yet  it has a huge and varied selection. The prices were fair and the staff was helpful without being overly nosy. I’ll definitely try to head over again before we move this summer.

marinaimg_0916

I picked up three skeins of this aqua-colored worsted weight Misti Alpaca called Marina Melange. I’m hoping to  make a Calorimetry and some gloves with it. I’ve been wearing crappy store-bought gloves and scarves all winter, which just doesn’t make any sense with my hobbies.

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

January 28, 2009 at 7:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

