Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Archive for January 25th, 2009

Less than satisfactory weekend

leave a comment »

I really hate it when my husband has to work overtime. He works third shift, so the weekends are the only time we really get to spend together right now. He got stuck working Saturday, so he slept all day, went to work, came home this morning, took Jamie for a few hours to try and let me get a little sleep, and then slept all day. If that’s not two ships passing in the night, I don’t know what is.

To top it off, Jameson is teething and hasn’t slept for more than a couple hours straight for the last 3 days. He doesn’t cry very often, but he is obviously in pain, so he wants to be held 24/7 for comfort. It makes getting anything done really difficult.

When I have a spare moment, such as in deadlocked traffic, or during my breaks at work, I’ve been working on my orangey goodness socks.

I love Plymouth Yarns Happy Feet sock yarn. Its so soft to work with, and the colors are very vibrant and fun. I’m knitting these on size 0 needles in the hopes that they end up being very durable. I know the pair I knit for my son have held up to multiple machine washings really well, and they were on size 1 needles. I’m going to try an eye of partridge heel too, if I can ever keep track of the rows correctly.

I was recently organizing some photos and realized that I should really try to take action shots for my knit pieces. Its always easier to decide if you want to make a pattern when you see an action shot, so here is one for a sweater I knit for Jameson before he was born.

Child’s Placket-Neck Pullover by Joelle Hoverson
Pattern: http://www.purlsoho.com/_gr/our_books/childplacketsweater.pdf
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk DK in Aqua and Plymouth Yarn Dreambaby 4 Ply
Needles: US 5 circular

It’s not the best view of it, but it does show the true colors and fit of the sweater. It was a size 6-12 months, but was a bit on the small side. I’d call it more of a 3-6 months sizing. The Dreambaby is still very soft but pills a bit, even while knitting. Nothing that a little sweater shaver can’t fix. The Debbie Bliss yarn is dreamy but I don’t recommend using it with Dreambaby in this color. It kind of bleeds over the white because of its halo, giving it a strange tint. Even so, it made a very soft and non-itchy sweater that kept Jamie warm on a very cold day.

It feels kind of wierd to be updating twice in one week. But I realized the other day that if I don’t start making some time for the things I enjoy, I’ll end up being one cranky mommy/wife. I enjoy blogging and want to do it more often, so lets see if I can make that happen.

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

January 25, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized