Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

A knit of this n’ that

with one comment

What an exhausting month this has been! I was sick all the way from the week before Christmas to now. Pneumonia really lingers with you for a while, but I’m finally able to go the whole day without coughing. It really just wore me out mentally as well as physically. I’ve also been hard at work fattening up my kids. Both of the boys lost so much weight from the pneumonia, and then Aidan had the stomach flu after. No fun!

You'd think we didn't feed the kid

Oh, and its been cold. Just a little bit. Nothing like a -50 degree temp to put Minnesota weather in perspective compared to the rest of the country. Don’t get me wrong, I know everyone got the cold weather, but there was a high of -7 the other day. That’s not even counting the windchill. We’re very used to snow and cold up here, but they actually closed my son’s elementary school last Thursday and Friday because of the dangerously cold temps. I think its time to invest in some Cuddle Duds.

I’ve been knitting mostly commission pieces lately, but I did manage to make a little baby blanket for my new niece Hattie. Just a simple shell-stitch crochet blanket that I made out of some yarn that my mother-in-law gave me.

Hattie’s Blanket
Pattern:
Crochet Shell Stitch Baby Blanket by Lion Brand Yarn
Yarn:
various acrylic
Hook: G hook

Notes: It was nice to crochet for a bit.  It feels easier  to  me and requires less brainpower, not to mention, I am a much faster crocheter than knitter. I loved this blanket a ton more before I threw it in the wash. I should have been more careful, but I threw it in with a pair of new blue jeans that dyed the two shades of white yarn an indigo hue! I really don’t want to give it to my niece the way it looks right now, so I’m hoping that I can wash it again and get some of the blue tint out of the yarn. Anyone have any tricks that can help?

I was able to use a bunch of acrylic yarn that Grandma Grimm never used before she went into the nursing home. Unfortunately she isn’t able to knit anymore, so I’m trying to use it up as best I can. But I have found that I really dislike working with acrylics anymore. Acrylic blends I don’t mind, but synthetic yarns just start to feel like plastic to me after they’ve been washed a few times. That and they pill like crazy.

Thankfully there was quite a bit of baby yarn in the bin, so I’ll knock out some things I have in mind for a friend who’s having twins, and then perhaps add a few more squares to my Family Afghan. I’ve been slowly working on it for a year or so, with three blocks per family member.

I was anticipating Jameson’s birth so that I could see what his personality was like to match it to his blocks. Now that I know what a wild child, spicy little ginger snap he is, I’m going to have to add some orange somewhere. Even if it clashes. Especially if it clashes! He’s just got the sort of naughty smile that makes you smile no matter what. I like to think he got that from me.

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

January 20, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awww, he. is. CUTE! Mine have always been table-gnawers like that. S’why I don’t take em to restaurants if I can help it. I lose focus for one second and.. ACK! Dear God NO! The Geeeerrrrrms…. oh, the humanity.

    I love your crochet photos. I need to save up for a nice camera…

    I wish I could give you some laundry tips but I can’t even get the Gerber stains out of my baby’s onesies.

    Ceci

    January 23, 2009 at 1:41 pm


Leave a Reply

