Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Knit and Movie Review

with 6 comments

Disclaimer: Please don’t read if you don’t want any movie spoilers!

Ok, so let me preface this with saying I love love LOVE the Twilight books. Ain’t nothing going to change that.

But…

Andy and I went to see the movie tonight and I’m still not sure if I liked it or not. Movies are never as good as the books, so I didn’t go into it thinking it would be Oscar-worthy. But I really don’t think it did the book justice.

Robert Patterson’s effort at an American accent wasn’t consistent throughout the movie, and was sort of distracting. I liked Bella, but felt like they didn’t really give her enough of a personality on the screen. The editing was too choppy, and the story and relationship didn’t flow as naturally as in the book. They really could have reworked the dialogue and interaction between Edward and Bella a lot better in the first half of the movie. I found myself laughing at the spots that aren’t supposed to be funny. I’ve been hearing that in a lot of other reviews, so I don’t feel too bad. At least it was entertaining!

The second half of the movie was much much better, and the chemistry between the two of them was hot! The action scene kicked ass in the ballet studio too. There were also some really cute romantic moments that weren’t in the book. I loved the way they casted Alice, but she didn’t have nearly a big enough role. Alice is my favorite character in the books!

I also loved Emmett in the movie, he was so cuddly and funny! Everyone was incredibly good-looking in the movie, but the last scene with Jacob made my heart go thumpity-thump. I’m not sure if it’s even legal for a woman my age to be thinking what I was thinking at that moment. Rawr!

And I was pleasantly surprised at the handmade items that I noticed in the movie. I say handmade becuase besides there was a fair amount of crocheted items too! Besides Bella’s mittens (which I got a much better look at from multiple angles) there was a crocheted granny square blanket, a crocheted hat that Jacob wears on the beach, a crocheted hat that Bella wears on the beach (I’m 80% sure it was crocheted), an multi-colored clapotis-ish scarf that Bella wears, and a knit shrug with apliqued yarn flowers that Bella wears in the prom scene.

I’d really like a better look at all of them, especially the scarf. Think that’s a good enough excuse to go again? Its funny how knitting can get under your skin to the point that you are paying more attention to interesting handknits than the actors at times!

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

November 21, 2008 at 10:43 pm

Posted in Knit Philosophy

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loved your review of the movie. I felt the same way, but loved it simply because it gave me the Twilight fix I needed. I just want to escape to Forks (I’m also a 30-something* married mom).

    Don’t forget Carlisle’s scarf in the baseball scene!

    P.S. I’d love to be entered to win your pattern. 🙂

    *not sure of your age, hope I didn’t offend you!

    bluecatknits

    November 22, 2008 at 3:58 pm

  2. LOL… I felt the same exact way you did with regards to the movie and I found myself noticing the blankets and hats too! As for Bella’s hat, I almost sure it’s a crocheted hat.

    As for the movie… I wish they spent more time during the first part of the movie developing how Bella became so deeply in love with Edward and vice versa… The book spent more time with regards to that making it more believable.

    Fannie

    November 23, 2008 at 12:06 am

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who was watching the handknits as well as the action! I’m obsessed with Rosalie’s white scarf (the first cafeteria scene) and Bella’s mittens; I’ve already found a couple of screencaps so I can figure out the scarf.

    I watched it for the second time today. I think that it was much better on a second viewing… plus the soundtrack is amazing. My favourite bit is the baseball scene. I just loved it for some reason!

    samantha

    November 24, 2008 at 12:20 am

  4. BTW I found your blog searching for “Twilight” on Ravelry!

    samantha

    November 24, 2008 at 12:20 am

  5. I agree, the movie seemed like it was written for a lifetime movie rather than the big screen and the characters weren’t as developed in the books so it was lacking for those that didn’t read the books. (Like my poor bf) He was wondering why there weren’t really any good scenes with all the vampires besides the visit and why we didn’t know more about them.
    I had to fill him in to some details. I read in a lot of reviews that the baseball scene was corny and not needed, when I thought it was easily one of the best scenes. Those reviewers obviously hadn’t read the books. Glad I’m not the only one who was a bit underwhelmed. I need to see it again to give a completely fair review though.
    Love the cabled mittens, might just have to make some of those!!:)

    Becca

    November 25, 2008 at 8:41 am

  6. I love this mittens, I cannot knit to save my life. Any way you would possibly knit me a pair I am willing to pay just quote me a price!!

    Maranda

    Maranda

    December 8, 2008 at 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

