Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Guilty Pleasures – Twilight

with 5 comments

My husband must really really love me.

He is voluntarily entering a lair of, I quote, “the piercing squees of a thousand ‘tween and teenage girls obsessed with being bitten by a hot vampire” this Friday on my behalf.

Aww, twue wuv.

It feels like such a guilty pleasure admitting that I read the Twilight series. I’m not the most main-stream girl to begin with, but for some reason this latest interest of mine feels a bit embarrassing.  At first I told myself I was just curious to see what the buzz was about. Then I read the first book, and was a little shell-shocked. For some reason the over-the-top melodrama and obsessive longing (emo much?) of the main characters didn’t make me want to hurl, so I quickly sped through the rest of the series. There’s just something about the characters that gets under your skin. They feel very familiar, and the writing style is intimate.

So in honor of the new movie I’m writing a pattern for the mittens that Bella wears in Twilight. They appear to be soft and warm, and while the pattern isn’t difficult it is fun in that they are so very long, going almost up to the elbows.

Its hard to see the details of them even when enlarged, because the grey stitches don’t exactly pop out at you. I’m pretty sure that there are ten repeats of the main pattern on the top of them though. I’m writing the pattern as I make them, so I should have it up soon!

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

November 18, 2008 at 5:22 pm

Posted in Humor, In-Progress Projects

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So, I bet you could make some serious money off these. For some reason right when I caught a glimpse of these mittens I thought they were so cool and “had to have them”. So I finally googled “Bella’s mittens” and your blog came up. Lots of people are wondering where she got them. How much would you charge for a pair? I can’t knit. I’ve tried. But I would love to have a pair just like Bella’s.

    Suzanne

    November 18, 2008 at 10:16 pm

  2. hi there i absolutely love those gloves. the cabling rocks. you did a good job with the pattern

    edward: money sex money money cat(lol)

    victoria barton

    November 21, 2008 at 11:23 am

  3. Hi there! I just saw the movie last night, and have begun the quest for these gloves. I am really glad you made the pattern! I am going to buy the pattern so I can find some one that knows how to knit, but is there any way that you would sell me a pair of the acutal gloves???

    Gabrielle

    November 27, 2008 at 8:57 am

  4. I fell REALLY hard for the series too! Funny you were able to get your husband to come along with you — I didn’t even dare!

    Loved the books, loved the movie, LOVE your mittens! I’m definitely buying a copy of the pattern – well done!

    Gail

    December 30, 2008 at 5:29 pm

  5. waKPLh comment4 ,

    andry

    May 7, 2009 at 12:24 pm


Leave a Reply

