Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Orangey Goodness

with one comment

I am seriously digging the color orange lately, and I think its because it reminds me of my kids. They both have that lovely reddish-orange colored hair, and it just makes me feel warm when I wear orange.

I finished the body of Jamie’s Pumpkin Sweater, and made a few changes to the pattern as I went.He’s a very long baby, so I extended the length. I’m already knitting the 12 month size and he fits into 9 month clothes easily. Hopefully with the extra length on it, he can wear the sweater all winter long. My kids are tall but not very roly-poly Gerber-esque.

I also tried something new on the shoulders. Instead of binding them off and seaming them together later,  I left the stitches liveon top and kitchener stitched them together. I’m not sure if I’ll like the effect once its worn, but for now I’m loving the abilty to avoid a lumpy seam.

I stopped in at Knit’N from the ❤ on Saturday and picked up some more Happy Feet sock yarn. This time I’m making myself a pair of socks, and the way its gotten cold so quickly this winter has only made me wish more often that I had a stash of handknit socks. No time like the present to get started on that, right?

I immediately gravitated towards this lovely colorway in orange and reds. The picture really doesn’t do the colors justice, as usual. I know I should be all avant-garde and pick a fancy sock pattern, but I know I’ll get more use out of a plain stockingette sock. Although I wonder if a waffle-stitch sock would be too much work…I’ll have to get back to ya.

Tomorrow I’ll post the first part of my Bella’s Mittens pattern. Stay tuned!

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

November 16, 2008 at 11:36 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just a note from someone who has grappled with lumpy shoulder seams: short rows and three-needle bind-off.

    The problem with grafting the shoulder is that the stitched will stretch out of shape. You actually do want a seam that will carry the weight of the garment. This is not a problem on a sweater for a child, who will out grow your adorable sweater long before the stitches stretch out of shape. But on an adult sweater… especially a drapey (but heavy) rayon blend… not so nice.

    I always had lumpy seams when I did the typical stepped bind offs on shoulder seams. I had one cardigan that I put aside for a couple of years until I could get this right.

    The solution: short rows. Then all of the stitches are live and you can do the ever-wonderful three-needle bind-off, which gives you a smooth (and strong) seam to support the weight of your entire garment.

    The best explanations that I’ve seen are in the magisterial The Principles of Knitting, by June Hemmons Hiatt [which was how I finally learned the technique]. This book, the size of a big one-volume dictionary, has long been out of print, but you can probably find one at a public library, possibly your hometown library. If not, you can request it through InterLibrary Loan [full disclosure: I work in a library and have used ILL for lots of books over the years].

    If you can’t track down Principles, then Google is your friend. There are some great web sites and blogs that show how to work short rows and three-needle bind-offs. There’s a great article on short rows on Knitty [http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEfall04/FEATpatterns103.html], and a fabulous explanation and illustration of three techniques for short rows on NonaKnits [http://nonaknits.typepad.com/nonaknits/2005/04/japanese_short_.html is the URL for the best post in the series].

    Happy knitting.
    Pat McDermott [sjrb66 at Ravelry]

    Pat McDermott

    December 8, 2008 at 4:25 pm


Leave a Reply

