Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Smack, Knitbug!

with one comment

Did anyone else ever play the “Slugbug” game as a child? We loooooved to play it when I was a kid, since there were six of us and we frequently had to travel long distances when moving between air bases.  The game never stops, EVER, once you start playing. I’ve been playing with my siblings for almost 30 years now. Whenever you see a VW Beetle, you smack the closest player on the arm and yell “Slugbug!” before they can. I’m sure you can see why it was so popular what with the gratuitous, yet mild violence involved.

Ever since I started knitting, I find myself wanting the equivalent of the game every time I see an unexpected situation involving knitting. Of course, I don’t think it will have the same amount of competition involved in my estrogen-deprived household. It’s just me and Jasmine the cat against the four boys, but in all fairness, we DO rule the roost.

But I digress, I present my first “Knitbug!” to share with you. I was watching Food Network the other day and saw this humorous commercial and got all excited thinking it was going to be a knitting show.

It turns out it’s a rather clever show mocking old Martha Stewart episodes called “Whatever, Martha!”. I know I plan to watch when it comes on. Who hasn’t silently skewered some of the ridiculous things that Martha Stewart demonstrates? Don’t get me wrong, I looooove Martha. If you ever thought that she doesn’t have a sense of humor, all you have to do is watch her when she goes on Conan O’Brian. She always shows up half-lit, and her and Conan have a grand old time.

Oh, and KNITBUG! Bet you didn’t see that coming, huh? I saw this in the news a while back and thought I’d share. Making math with yarn…who’d have thought it was possible?

Going back to work has been a really really trying and exhausting experience with a 3 month old and 7 year old, so I’ll have to post some FOs next time.

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

September 25, 2008 at 10:57 pm

Posted in Humor, Knit Philosophy

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there! I love your bella mittens! I have looked everywhere and i cannot knit 😦 Do you think that i could buy a pair from you please? If so that would be amazing! Just let me know if you are willing to; how much do you charge? Thanks so much! Please email me back!!
    Allyson

    Allyson

    November 26, 2008 at 2:37 pm


Leave a Reply

