Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Last-Minute Reprieve

with one comment

Yes, I actually come bearing a knitted item and yarn pr0n. Proof that I do still knit, and occasionally finish things.

First, the finished thingy.

Child’s Placket-Neck Pullover by Joelle Hoverson
Pattern: http://www.purlsoho.com/_gr/our_books/childplacketsweater.pdf
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk DK in Aqua and Plymouth Yarn Dreambaby 4 Ply
Needles: US 5 circular

Notes: I was very determined to use up my stash yarn for this project, so it made gauge a bit tricky. I also think that baby patterns aren’t the most accurate for sizing. I ended up double-stranding the Dream Baby, and using one strand of the Debbie Bliss in alternating rows.

I’m no expert (and this was the third baby sweater that I’ve made) but I found the instructions for attaching the arms pretty confusing. Now that I’ve done it once, I’m sure it’d be easier a second time around. I think the stripes make it more interesting, but it would be a lot less work making it in one color with alternating cuffs and collars. It’s a pain in the butt to line up the stripes of the arms and the body.

I’m happy with how it looks, but a few of the finishing details look sloppy no matter how much I mess with them. The right arm ended up with a small blip of stripe that doesn’t match up to the body of the sweater. And when I sewed the bottom edge of the placket to the body, it pulls at the other stitches causing a bit of a warp. They aren’t terribly obvious though, and I guess that’s how you know it’s hand-made!

And finally, my older son and I stopped in at Knit’N From the Heart on our “Super Special Top-Secret Fun Mommy and Aidan Day”. Its just a coincidence that it was two shops down from where we had lunch. Really, it was. He surprised me and asked a thousand different questions when we got inside, and was fascinated by the antique spinning wheel on display. When I showed him the sock yarn, he asked me to make him some toasty socks for his tootsies this winter, and I let him pick out the yarn.

This is only the second pair of socks that I’ve ever made, but I already like the yarn a ton more than the Tofutsies I used on my last pair. It feels like actual yarn instead of string. I bought two skeins because I have no idea how much yarn a pair of child’s socks will take. I figure if I have any left over, I can make baby socks or booties for Jamie.

I was thinking I’d just try to master a simple stocking this time around instead of a fancy pattern. It’d just get lost in those lovely colors anyways. I’m going to try out Evelyn Skae’s Most Basic Kids Sock, and see how it goes.

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

August 27, 2008 at 1:41 am

Posted in Finished Projects

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The sweater turned out so cute! And mine did the exact same thing at the placket. Drove me crazy!

    Rebecca

    September 3, 2008 at 8:53 am


Leave a Reply

