Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Baby Love

with one comment

So I figure I’m waaaaaay overdue for a journal update. I am actually still alive, I was just so miserable and in pain at the end of my pregnancy that I didn’t do much of anything during May and June.

WARNING! Gratuitous baby photos ahead!

FINALLY had the baby! I swear to God it felt like I was pregnant for 10 years by the time my C-section rolled around. I try to make it a habit not to say scary or overly negative things about pregnancy around my friends who don’t have children, in an effort to not scare them off of it…..but I’m making an exception because this is my journal. These were some of the most miserable months of my entire life!!! My first pregnancy was a cake-walk, but this one sucked. Morning sickness for 5 months, awful pelvic pain that made it impossible for me to do just about anything physical, and for the last two months I had constant non-progressing contractions that my doctor said was because I had an “irritable uterus”. Yeah….I laughed pretty hard when he told me, thinking he was making a joke. It’s an actual condition! <insert numerous complaints and bitching here>

But it was all worth it in the end. Our son, Jameson Tennant <last name omitted>, was born at 7:57am on Wednesday, July 9.

I wasn’t conscious during the birth of my first child, since I had an emergency C-section and almost died, so I was really scared going into this one. But it was really a great experience. I was terrified of getting the spinal, but I didn’t even feel it go in because they numb you before putting the needle in. It wasn’t even so bad not feeling your lower body, because you can still move your arms and head. It WAS a little creepy that they restrained my arms before the surgery, but I can understand the reasoning behind it. I didn’t feel a thing during the surgery, and it all went really smoothly.

The moment I heard him cry for the first time, tears just welled-up in my eyes and I felt so relieved and happy at the same time. You spend 10 months carrying around another person inside of you, trying to connect with a stranger that you have never met, and worried that something will go wrong at any moment, and then BAM, there they are. You just can’t prepare yourself for how it feels to meet your own child for the first time.

He was BIG! It really surprised the doctors when it took 10 minutes to get him out via C-section because he had such a big Irish noggin (15 inches!!). He weighed 9lbs 4oz, was 21 inches long, and has strawberry blond hair. I’m just glad Ididn’t have to attempt to deliver the roly-poly twerp the old-fashioned way…

The hospital stay was pretty uneventful, but I ran out of pain meds over the weekend that they released me and I was in a lot of freaking pain. Thank goodness for vicodin. Then last week we took Jamie in for his one week checkup and found out that he had really bad jaundice, which landed him in the hospital for two nights under a billi-lamp. It’s this really creepy machine which pumps out blue light and looks like a tanning bed. They even put little foam goggles over his eyes so they wouldn’t get damaged by the rays.

But anywho, he’s better now and I’m just about at the point where I can finally start to function normally again. I get 10 weeks paid maternity leave from my work, so I don’t have to go back until around September 20. Kickass, no? I am soooo looking forward to running again, but I don’t dare try that for a while yet. Some easy-goes-it walks are definitely in my future though. I’m going nuts being cooped up inside! The good news is that I’ve already lost all of the weight from my pregnancy, plus 10 pounds more without any effort at all. I think I must just retain a shitload of water when I get pregnany, because to lose 30 pounds in 2 weeks is just insane. Not that I’m complaining!

And I leave you with Pirate Baby! Arrrrgh!

~Tahra~

P.S. I’ve got loads of knitting stuff to update in future posts! Leave a comment to kick my ass into doing so. 😉

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

July 24, 2008 at 2:43 am

Posted in Family

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a sweet little boy! And big brother looks thrilled!

    Rebecca

    July 30, 2008 at 1:00 pm


Leave a Reply

