Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Nesting Syndrome

with one comment

In breaking knitting news, my friend Shannon <3’s her birthday purse. She even made a point to dress in  plummy purples today so that everything color-coordinated with her purse…Gotta love someone who appreciates a handmade gift!

I also was this close to sewing up the floor pillow o’ doom last week and then when I pulled it over the pillow form I had bought, I couldn’t help but notice this:

Umm, yeah….that puppy obviously needs another four inches in length. It was depressing to undo the bind-off and cast it on again, but really, it’s only a little bit more. I worked on it a bit at work today, and if I keep at it, it should be done tomorrow night.

Sooooo, it’s been 8 years since I had my son, and I had totally forgotten about nesting syndrome. It’s like this primal urge to have everything tidy and organized right fucking now. Its not unlike how many of us have our little routines and quirk when it comes to knitting. The yarn has to be positioned just so, measuring and remeasuring each schematic of the item at regular intervals, grafting/felting the ends together to a certain criteria, washing the finished project in a certain scent before blocking. Whatever floats your boat. I’m really just trying to convince my pregnant mind that I am not crazy, and knit philosophy somehow validates that.

Granted, I’m not exactly what you would call the Donna Reed of housekeeping, but even I have my standards. I do hate clutter, so I frequently toss crap we don’t need/use and I don’t allow random junk to be brought home. I really got the spring cleaning bug a couple weeks ago, and decided I couldn’t stand the overflowing craft stuff all over the place. We had to get some new furniture for the boys’ room, so I gave up my trusty sewing cabinet as a storage option. I bought it for $15 when I was in college and just added some baskets to organize my material and sewing odds and ends. When I became obsessed with crochet and then knitting, I just tossed my yarn into an old basket I had….boy that didn’t last for long. Pretty soon I had yarn and needles and patterns and books coming out the wazoo. You couldn’t walk 10 steps in our apartment without tripping over something.

So we spent all weekend in intense decluttering and cleaning. It can be a constant battle getting my husband and son to admit they don’t like/use an item. Hopefully this little twerp will be more like mommy. I’ll save you the boredom of looking at the dust bunnies we scraped off of the ceiling fan in the dining room and skip right to the good stuff.

We finished the nursery!

This may not seem like a big deal to most folks, but we were so broke when we had Aidan that we couldn’t afford to spend money on anything, much less decorative touches. It felt nice to make the room comfy and cheerful. Plus, I was able to reuse and buy used for many of the items! The bouncer was $12 at Once Upon a Child, and it looks like brand new.

The bedding is new, but I got this solid wood crib for $100. I’m guessing it was $300 new. Also, all the wall hangings we bought at Target from the bargain bin for $2-3 a piece. The large pieces are actually tiny area rugs that we stuck sticky velcro to so they would hang on the wall. Voila, instant nursery artwork!

I gave up my beloved sewing cabinet, but I have to admit it looks rather nice in there with the baskets and Andy’s teddy bear bank from when he was a child.

Aidan and Rawry insisted on being in this photo. More wall art from Target, and a string of monkey lantern lights from Home Goods. Its a jungle theme in case you hadn’t figured it out.

And lastly, a little reading nook near the closet for him to cozy up in. I’m thinking about getting a bean bag chair to put over there. Something that matches the floor pillow I’m finishing up. It feels good to be prepared in some fashion for when the baby comes home.

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

April 22, 2008 at 3:35 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have that bouncer! The room looks so nice, congrats on your new wee one.

    Krista

    April 29, 2008 at 11:18 pm


Leave a Reply

