Snowviolet

Honest, opinioniated, or rude depending on how you look at it.

Now is the winter of our discontent…

leave a comment »

So I may have mentioned that I live in Minnesota. I wasn’t born here, and I didn’t grow up here, but it’s a nice state. Friendly people, beautiful landscapes, lots of history. That being said…

I am so freaking jealous of every other region of the country right now. It was supposed to be 70 degrees today, so I thought I would haul my pregnant ass outside for that bright yellow ball of gas that is rumored to exist in the sky. I work in downtown St. Paul at a bank-that-shall-not-be-named, right next to the Mississippi River. It’s a gorgeous view, and there are walkways and parks all along the shore. I figure, a little walk, a little sun, a little knitting, what could be better?

I stepped outside and was blasted by nearly 50 mph winds that just about knocked me over. It’s a miracle I got any pictures without hair in the lens. We had 8 inches of snow last week, and even though it has melted now, the grass is that ugly, yellow-brown color that makes you think of death, not rebirth.

Sometimes it feels like Minnesota has something against spring, as it frequently jumps right from winter to summer. Even so, I am lucky to have such a great view of the city from work. The architecture is interesting, and we’re only a block away from Harriet Island, a little park area that has tons of festivals such as the Taste of Minnesota and the Winter Carnival
.

I always look at this lonely little shack atop the water locks and wonder if it is actually functional. In all the years I’ve been here, I’ve never seen the locks activated.

Oh well, at least I got some knitting done today. I’ve been trying to find creative ways to use the yarn I have so that I can start a new project in good conscience. I had about a ball each of Berroco Ultra Alpaca in a heathery pink and a dark plum that needed a home. Neither color really is very interesting on their own, but stranded together they are lovely, indeed!

My friend Shannon’s birthday is this weekend, so I knitted up a cabled purse from a free pattern on Ravelry. I thought it would be fun to try felting, so I knitted it until I ran out of yarn, and then attached it to the bamboo handles that I bought at Joann. The handles are too delicate to go into a washing mashine, so I went ahead and handwashed/felted it in a little washtub in the bathroom and then hung it up to shape/dry.

I have no idea what will happen next, but it didn’t seem to shrink very much. I’ll be lining and sewing up the sides tomorrow, so stay tuned for a more detailed picture in the daylight to see the results!

I’ve also been working on my very first pair of socks. I must have restarted these damn things about 40 times in the last year. The yarn is Tofutsies and beautiful, but it’s so tiny! It probably would have been more practical and less frustrating to knit a pair in wool for the winters around here. And although it is tempting to just do a simple stocking, I want something to show for the time and effort put into my first pair. So I went ahead and used the Widdershins pattern from Knitty Summer 06.

It’s really frustrating trying to cable on such thin thread, but I have to admit I like the way it looks. And the twists are only every 8 rows. I think tomorrow I’ll be able to start on the heel. Admittedly, the most exciting thing about this project is that I’m knitting both socks on the same circular at once. Am I the only one who thinks that TOTALLY rocks?! I am so looking forward to trying this method for mittens. I always end up altering the shaping or length of mittens, and inevitably forget what I did on the first one by the time I get to the second. This makes it so much simpler!

Written by Milwaukee Knit Chick

April 16, 2008 at 5:50 am

Leave a Reply

